Amazing Grace in Newtown In the face of her daughter’s death, Jenny Hubbard reminds us that faith consoles.

http://www.nationalreview.com/article/366316/amazing-grace-newtown-kathryn-jean-lopez  Excerpts: 

When I could not find her, I felt a calm fill my heart and I knew in that moment she was with God. I knew that she was safe, safer than I could ever make her. I miss her. There will be a hole in my heart that widens each time I remember something so simple that was so Catherine. Each time I feel that my tears will not stop, I am pulled back to a place of peace and find comfort that Catherine was called to a job much bigger than I can even fathom. I know that God has a specific purpose for us, and,while I may not understand right now how I will muster the strength to fulfill His purpose, I must remain centered on His face. He will provide what I need to move forward. He will provide the soft nudges to help me feel confident that I am doing what He intended.

…Jenny Hubbard reminds us that those who bear the heaviest crosses can help save us from spiritual poverty.

…But we don’t always know this, since so often we spend our time with friends and families, colleagues and new acquaintances, just staring at a screen instead of getting to know them better and encountering their current fears, anxieties, joys, and gratitude. This is why we find ourselves stopping when something unthinkable happens.

…And we treat men — and boys — suffering from mental illness, suffering from loneliness, feeling excluded from the world, as someone else’s problem. And while we participate in collective wailing about one slaughter of innocents, we pretend that death isn’t death if it’s deemed choice in other circumstances — when we think we somehow have them under our control, even as an inexhaustible pain eats away at the souls of women and men amidst a culture in denial and evasion.

…We may think, as a matter of principle, that religious persecution is a terrible scourge. But do we actually really care? When you hear about Nigerians being killed for going to Sunday Mass, do you move to the next story, or do you weep for them? When you see threats against religious liberty in your own country, do you move to the next story, and even vote the guy back in? Do you care that others are trying to live lives according to their conscience? Do you feel inspired or challenged, or do you move on and get to Mass next Sunday again just in time to make it count for showing up, and leave once you get what you came for?

…How many of us, myself included, have lost our bearings; we are no longer attentive to the world in which we live; we don’t care; we don’t protect what God created for everyone, and we end up unable even to care for one another! And when humanity as a whole loses its bearings, it results in tragedies like the one we have witnessed.

…How many of us, myself included, have lost our bearings; we are no longer attentive to the world in which we live; we don’t care; we don’t protect what God created for everyone, and we end up unable even to care for one another! And when humanity as a whole loses its bearings, it results in tragedies like the one we have witnessed.

Leave a Reply

